Exclusive Collections Furniture Lighting Objects Available pieces Designers Journal

Cloud Plinth-Seat de Yoon-Young Hur pour Ormond Editions

We are delighted to present a Cloud Plinth-Seat series by New York-based ceramic artist Yoon-Young Hur.

Hur creates ceramics and paintings rooted in Korean heritage and experiments on materiality, form and site specificity. Drawn to historical artefacts and contemporary minimalism, she seeks to create a dialogue between the past and the now. In this series, she reinterprets her practice and transforms it into furniture.

Cloud Plinth-Seat is inspired by historic ceramics such as Maebyeong celadon from the Goryeo period (917-1391) and Moon Jar from the Joseon period (1392-1897). The pieces are formed in their entirety using a coiling technique. “Coiling is an ancient process that is found across various cultures of the world. It has a more primitive and open spirit to it, which I try to express through explorative textures and imperfect forms. I feel it is more natural and honest that way,” says the artist.

She invites the viewer to feel as if he or she is sitting on boulder or cloud, in nature, bringing the outside in. There’s a sense simultaneity of heaviness and lightness — the weighty clay form grounds us while the cloudy surface evokes the sky’s etherealness.

Also there is a sense of void and emptiness in her work. Hur says, “in Korean heritage, the void is considered a generative space, one that speaks to something beyond the artwork itself. It opens up the viewer’s senses to the ever-changing environment in which the objects dwell.

"In Korean heritage, the void is considered a generative space, one that speaks to something beyond the artwork itself. It opens up the viewer’s senses to the ever-changing environment in which the objects dwell."

Yoon-Young Hur holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts from The School of the Art Institute of Chicago (2006) and a Bachelor of Architecture from Cooper Union, Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture (2010).

Photos © Piet-Albert Goethals

Collections exclusives Mobilier Luminaires Objets Pièces disponibles Designers Journal

Cloud Plinth-Seat de Yoon-Young Hur pour Ormond Editions

Nous sommes heureux de vous présenter la série Cloud Plinth-Seat réalisée par l’artiste céramiste Yoon-Young Hur, basée à New York.

Hur crée des céramiques et des peintures enracinées dans l’héritage coréen et expérimente la matérialité, la forme et la spécificité du site. Attirée par les artefacts historiques et le minimalisme contemporain, elle cherche à créer un dialogue entre le passé et le présent. Dans cette série, elle réinterprète sa pratique et la transforme en mobilier.

Cloud Plinth-Seat s’inspire de céramiques historiques telles que le Mae Byung Celadon de la période Goryeo (917-1391) et le Moon Jar de la période Joseon (1392-1897). Les pièces sont formées dans leur intégralité grâce à la technique au colombin. « La technique au colombin est un procédé ancien que l’on retrouve dans diverses cultures du monde. Il est empreint d’un esprit plus primitif et ouvert, que j’essaie d’exprimer par des formes imparfaites » explique l’artiste.

Elle invite le spectateur à se sentir comme si il était assis sur un rocher ou un nuage en pleine nature, entre vide et légèreté. Selon Hur, « dans l’héritage coréen, le vide est considéré comme un espace génératif, qui parle de quelque chose au-delà de l’œuvre d’art elle-même. Il ouvre les sens du spectateur à l’environnement en constante évolution dans lequel les objets vivent. »

« dans l’héritage coréen, le vide est considéré comme un espace génératif, qui parle de quelque chose au-delà de l’œuvre d’art elle-même. Il ouvre les sens du spectateur à l’environnement en constante évolution dans lequel les objets vivent. »

Yoon-Young Hur diplômée de la School of the Art Institute of Chicago (Bachelor en Arts visuels, 2006) et de la Cooper Union, Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture (Bachelor en architecture, 2010)

Photos © Piet-Albert Goethals